USDA designates 79 counties in Georgia as disaster areas - WRBL

USDA designates 79 counties in Georgia as disaster areas

Posted: Updated:

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated 79 counties as primary natural disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by excessive rain that began April 1, 2013, and continuing.

Those counties are:

  • Appling
  • Atkinson
  • Bacon
  • Baker
  • Baldwin
  • Banks
  • Barrow
  • Ben Hill
  • Berrien
  • Bleckley
  • Brantley
  • Brooks
  • Bryan
  • Burke
  • Chatham
  • Clarke
  • Clinch
  • Coffee
  • Colquitt
  • Cook
  • Crawford
  • Crisp
  • Decatur
  • DeKalb
  • Echols
  • Effingham
  • Elbert
  • Emanuel
  • Fannin
  • Franklin
  • Gilmer
  • Glascock
  • Grady
  • Greene
  • Gwinnett
  • Hancock
  • Hart
  • Irwin
  • Jackson
  • Jasper
  • Jeff Davis
  • Jefferson
  • Jenkins
  • Johnson
  • Jones
  • Lanier
  • Laurens
  • Lowndes
  • Macon
  • Madison
  • Miller
  • Mitchell
  • Montgomery
  • Morgan
  • Newton
  • Oconee
  • Oglethorpe
  • Peach
  • Pierce
  • Putnam
  • Rockdale
  • Screven
  • Seminole
  • Taylor
  • Telfair
  • Thomas
  • Tift
  • Towns
  • Treutlen
  • Turner
  • Twiggs
  • Union
  • Walton
  • Ware
  • Washington
  • Wayne
  • Wheeler
  • Wilcox
  • Wilkinson

"Our hearts go out to those Georgia farmers and ranchers affected by recent natural disasters," said Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack. "President Obama and I are committed to ensuring that agriculture remains a bright spot in our nation's economy by sustaining the successes of America's farmers, ranchers and rural communities through these difficult times. We're also telling Georgia producers that USDA stands with you and your communities when severe weather and natural disasters threaten to disrupt your livelihood."

Farmers and ranchers in some other counties also qualify for natural disaster assistance.

All qualified farm operators in the designated areas are eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA's Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met.

Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Additional programs available to assist farmers and ranchers include the Emergency Conservation Program, Federal Crop Insurance, and the Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program. Interested farmers may contact their local USDA Service Centers

Additional information is also available online at

Jessi Mitchell

Jessi joined the WRBL news team in October 2012 after working as a freelance production assistant for MTV Networks in Los Angeles.

Powered by WorldNow

1350 13th Avenue
Columbus, GA 31901

Telephone: 706.323.3333
Fax: 706.327.6655

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Media General Communications Holdings, LLC. A Media General Company.