Malzahn named AP Coach of the Year - WRBL

Malzahn named AP Coach of the Year

Posted: Updated:
AUBURN, Ala. (AP) - Auburn's Gus Malzahn is the Associated Press coach of the year.
Malzahn received the honor Monday after directing one of the biggest turnarounds in college football history.
He has led the second-ranked Tigers into the national championship game against No. 1 Florida State. They have gone from 3-9 to 12-1 in his debut season.
Malzahn says the honor is "very humbling" but awards like this are a team accomplishment.
He received 33 votes from AP Top 25 college football poll voters to beat out Duke's David Cutcliffe. Cutcliffe received 17 votes after leading Duke (10-3) to its first 10-win season. Florida State's Jimbo Fisher and Michigan State's Mark Dantonio each received three votes.
Malzahn is the second Auburn coach to win the award, joining Tommy Tuberville in 2004.

(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)
Powered by WorldNow

1350 13th Avenue
Columbus, GA 31901

Telephone: 706.323.3333
Fax: 706.327.6655

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Media General Communications Holdings, LLC. A Media General Company.