Lenoir County school board names new principals at 6 schools - WRBL

Lenoir County school board names new principals at 6 schools

Posted: Updated:
KINSTON, N.C. - The Lenoir County Board of Education named new principals at six schools Monday night, filling openings created by retirement, resignation and requested reassignment.

Of the six new principals, five currently work in LCPS and the sixth taught in the system for years.

The new assignments are effective July 1.

At Kinston High School, Tina Letchworth, will take over. She is currently principal at E.B. Frink Middle School in La Grange. Kinston High will be the fourth posting as a principal for Letchworth, a LCPS employee for 20 years. In addition to Frink, she previously led staffs at Northwest Elementary and Savannah Middle School. A former teacher at Contentnea and La Grange elementary schools, she also worked as the system’s Reading First Coordinator.

Brian Corey will fill the role at E.B. Frink Middle School. He is currently interim principal at Kinston High. Corey stepped into the job in April after Angela Bryant, KHS principal for three years, resigned to take a job in the private sector. Corey has worked in the system for six years, as a teacher at Rochelle Middle School and as an assistant principal at Kinston High, the job he held when he was promoted.

At Moss Hill Elementary, Elizabeth Greer, an assistant principal at Woodington Middle School will be the new principal. Greer takes over for Susan Glover, who has requested reassignment as an assistant principal at South Lenoir High School. At Woodington for five months this past school year, Greer previously served as assistant principal at Kinston High and Rochelle. She’s worked in the system for a year. A 26-year veteran of LCPS, Glover is in her second year as principal at Moss Hill and previously served as principal at Pink Hill Elementary. She also held assistant principal positions at South Lenoir, Moss Hill and Pink Hill and taught at Banks and La Grange elementary schools.

Kecia Dunn, currently principal at Northeast Elementary in Kinston, will be the new principal at La Grange Elementary. Dunn will take over for longtime La Grange principal Kristie Brennan, who plans to relocate with her family to Indiana at the end of the school year. At Northeast for five years, Dunn previously served as principal at Teacher’s Memorial, assistant principal at La Grange and teacher and Reading First coach at La Grange. She’s spent 22 years in LCPS.

At Northeast Elementary, Lorene Bell, is taking over for Dunn. Bell has worked for 35 years in LCPS, as a teacher at Banks Elementary and in her current position as an assistant principal at Rochelle.

At Southwood Elementary, Michele Hill, is filling the vacancy created by the retirement of longtime principal Jerry Walton. Hill is currently an assistant principal at Ben D. Quinn Elementary in Craven County and has worked in that school system for 10 years, the last year in her current role. She spent four years as a teacher at Southwood.
Powered by WorldNow

1350 13th Avenue
Columbus, GA 31901

Telephone: 706.323.3333
Fax: 706.327.6655
Email: news@wrbl.com

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Media General Communications Holdings, LLC. A Media General Company.