After eight years, Columbus gets a new mayor this morning

Change In Leadership

Mayor-elect Skip Henderson, who has been in a holding pattern since he won election back in May, will be sworn in today during a 10 a.m. ceremony in council chambers in the Citizens Service Center.

News 3’s Chuck Williams and Mikhaela Singleton will be providing team coverage throughout the day. Chuck joins us on the set now to talk about what will happen today.

Henderson will be taking over for Mayor Teresa Tomlinson, a two-term mayor who has served the last eight years. 

Henderson will be sworn in by former mayor and current Superior Court Judge Bobby Peters. There is some symbolism in that. Henderson served 21 years on Columbus Council and Peters was the first mayor he served under. In addition to Peters and Tomlinson, three other former mayors are scheduled o attend — Bob Hydrick, Bob Poydasheff and Jim Wetherington.

Tomlinson is leaving office and returning to private law practice. She has also said she is exploring a potential statewide run in 2020 for the U.S. Senate currently held by David Perdue.

Henderson is not the only one being sworn in today.

The five newly elected councilors — Judy Thomas, Pops Barnes, Bruce Huff, Mimi Woodson and Charmaine Crabb — will be sworn in first.  Crabb won the District 5 seat held by Mike Baker without opposition. The other four are incumbents who were re-elected to the 10-person council. is planning to live stream the ceremony beginning just before 10 a.m.  News 3 will have extensive coverage on Midday, First Edition and Evening Edition as well as Nightwatch. 

Henderson will be the city’s 70th mayor and the 13th since consolidation in the early 1970s.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Community Headline List

More Community