ATLANTA – Following a successful Annual Convention in Savannah, the Georgia Municipal Association (GMA) is proud to announce this year’s Officers and Board of Directors.

The board consists of active city officials, including mayors and councilmembers; representatives for city attorneys, city managers, and clerks and finance officers; the chairman of the Georgia Municipal Employee Benefit System; and GMA Executive Director and CEO Larry Hanson. All board members, including President Julie Smith, mayor of Tifton, were sworn in at the Annual Convention on June 26. These leaders are active city officials from across the state of Georgia who lead the organization’s committees, advocate for cities’ legislative interests on the state and federal levels and represent GMA in various capacities.

The 2022-2023 Board of Directors Consists of:


President: Julie B. Smith: Mayor, Tifton
1st Vice President: Randall Walker: Mayor, Perry
2nd Vice President: Fred P. Perriman, Mayor, Madison
3rd Vice President: Bianca Motley Broom, Mayor, College Park

Active Past Presidents

Immediate Past President: Jim Thornton, Mayor, LaGrange
Past President: William McIntosh, Mayor, Moultrie
Past President: Keith Brady: Mayor, Newnan
Past President: John Reid: Mayor, Eatonton
Past President: Linda Blechinger, Mayor, Auburn
Past President: Vince Williams, Mayor, Union City

Executive Director and CEO

Larry Hanson

Directors At Large

Shelly Jackson Berryhill, Commissioner, Hawkinsville
Lisa Clarke Hill, Council Member, Moultrie
Ollie Clemons, Mayor, Austell
Andre Dickens, Mayor, Atlanta
Andrea Gibby, Mayor, Young Harris
Skip Henderson, Mayor, Columbus
Deana Holiday Ingraham, Mayor, East Point
Jason Holt, Mayor, Fitzgerald
Isaiah Hugley, City Manager, Columbus
Michael-Angelo James, Mayor, Waycross
Jonathan McCollar, Mayor, Statesboro
Lester Miller, Mayor, Macon-Bibb County
Liz Ordiales, Mayor, Hiawassee
Rusty Paul, Mayor, Sandy Springs

District Officers

District One

President: Tyree Goodlett, Councilmember, Dalton
1st Vice President: Kelly Bomar, Councilmember, Ringgold

District Two

President: Tray Larry Hicks, Councilmember, Hartwell
1st Vice President: Robert Moore, Councilmember, Blairsville

District Three

President Central: Keisha Sean Waites, Councilmember, Atlanta
President East: Stephe Koontz, Councilmember, Doraville
President North: Steven W. Miller, Mayor, Holly Springs
President Northeast: Marc David Cohen, Councilmember, Sugar Hill
President South: Anthony Ford, Mayor, Stockbridge
President Southwest: Brett Reichert, Councilmember, Hapeville
President West: Sam Davis, Councilmember, Douglasville

District Four

President: Betty Cason, Mayor, Carrollton
1st Vice President: William Pearman, Mayor, Senoia

District Five

President: Mr. John Howard, Mayor, Monroe
1st Vice President: David Keener, Mayor, Social Circle

District Six

President: Eric Wilson, Mayor, Forsyth
1st Vice President: Clifford Holmes, Councilmember, Warner Robins

District Seven

President: Alana Burke, Councilmember, Lincolnton
1st Vice President: Jordan Johnson, Commissioner, Augusta

District Eight

President: William B. Whitley, Mayor, Butler
1st Vice President: Jesse Simmons, Councilmember, Fort Gaines

District Nine

President: Shirlene Armstrong, Commissioner, Jesup
1st Vice President: Timothy Varnadore, Mayor, Baxley

District Ten

President: Travis Wimbush, Mayor, Blakely
1st Vice President: Jay Flowers, Mayor, Thomasville

District Eleven

President: Mona Paulk, Councilmember, Ocilla
1st Vice President: Tommy Roberts, Councilmember, Fitzgerald

District Twelve

President: Allen Brown, Mayor, Hinesville
1st Vice President: Russell Deen, Mayor, Guyton

Section Presidents

City Managers Section President: Marcia Hampton, City Manager, Douglasville
City Attorneys Section President – Brooke Newby, City Attorney, Perry
City Clerks Section President – Vicki P. Wainwright, City Clerk/City Administrator, Butler

Policy Committee Chairs

Revenue & Finance Chair: Betty Cason, Mayor, Carrollton
Transportation Chair: Michael Chidester: Mayor, Byron
Municipal Government Chair: Anthony Ford, Mayor, Stockbridge
Public Safety Chair: Kelly Girtz, Mayor, Athens-Clarke County
Environment & Natural Resources Chair: Van R. Johnson, II, Mayor, Savannah
Community Development Chair: Regina M. McDuffie, City Manager, Brunswick

GMEBS Board Chair

Ms. Rebecca Tydings, City Attorney, Centerville

Municipal Training Board Chair

Tiffany Walraven, Mayor Pro Tem, Pembroke